Personal tools
You are here: Home


1st Porto Workshop on Sources of Super-intense and Ultrashort Laser Pulses

Group photo, Oct. 27 2009 (please click to view full-size image)


banner dia

Image: Francisco Silva - francisLM Photography (used with permission)

1st Porto Workshop on Sources of Super-intense and Ultrashort Laser Pulses

Welcome to the 1st Porto Workshop on Sources of Super-intense and Ultrashort Laser Pulses. This workshop is part of the scientific activity of the programme "Super-intense Laser-matter Interactions" (SILMI) of the European Science Foundation and is focused on the development, characterization and applications of new sources of super-intense and/or ultrashort pulses, with emphasis on two major directions in technology:

  • generation of infrared and optical pulses at higher repetition rates, shorter durations, and higher peak intensities;

  • development of more efficient laser-pumped high-order harmonic sources, capable of generating attosecond pulses for sub-femtosecond control and pump-probe experiments.

This workshop is expected to be an important forum for communication of new ideas and methods in ultrashort laser pulse technology and applications, and will be hosted by IFIMIP/IN - Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology in Porto, Portugal.


Main Topics

  • High intensity and ultrashort pulse lasers
  • Pulse compression
  • Ultrafast diagnostics
  • Pulse cleaning and contrast enhancement techniques
  • Carrier-envelope phase stabilization
  • Extreme ultraviolet and soft X-ray pulses from high harmonic generation and free electron lasers
  • High harmonic generation and attosecond pulses





International program committee:

Charles J. Joachain (SILMI Chair, Université Libre de Bruxelles/Belgium), Dimitri Batani (SILMI Vice Chair, University of Milano Bicocca/Italy), Jürgen Meyer-ter-Vehn (MPQ Garching/Germany), Luís Bernardo (University of Porto/Portugal), Helder Crespo (University of Porto/Portugal), Viorica Florescu (University of Bucharest/Romania), Javier Honrubia (Universidad Politecnica de Madrid/Spain), Ursulla Keller (ETH Zurich/Switzerland), Marco Kirm (University of Tartu/Estonia), Jiri Limpouch (Czech Technical Institute/Czech Republic), Lars Bojer Madsen (University of Aarhus/Denmark), J. Tito Mendonça (Instituto Superior Técnico/Portugal), Algis Piskarskas (Vilnius University/Lithuania), Rainer Salomaa (Helsinki University of Technology/Finland), Armin Scrinzi (Vienna University of Technology/Austria), Claes-Göran Wahlström (Lund University/Sweden)

Local organizing committee:

Helder Crespo (Chair), Luís Bernardo, Francisco Silva
IFIMUP/IN - Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Department of Physics, University of Porto



Document Actions